27 Books in 2011

I’m new to the idea of a blog. Typically, I’m more of a journal person. I like the idea of all that unused space just waiting for my thoughts and feelings. I don’t even know if anyone is going to be interested in reading my blog. To be honest, I feel a little ridiculous. Really, though, it’s nothing to feel silly about. Let me just be honest here.

I am in love with food. It has been an on-going relationship ever since I can remember. At one point I decided I was so in love with it that I would join culinary school – which is exactly what I did. I decided that career path wasn’t for me, but I remained entangled in my romance.

I also love books. It wasn’t until after high school that I really started reading for pleasure. It was an occasional occurance – not unheard of – but I just didn’t have the time to with school. So then after I got married it just seemed to skyrocket. And now I am in a book club, and I read my Bible, and I read other books of interest in between. Usually, I’ll read about two to three books per month.

So today, I write about books.

Favorite book of all time: Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte.

Favorite genre: Fantasy Fiction

Favorite series: The Sword of Truth Series, by Terry Goodkind

These are the books I read in 2011:

A Darkness at Sethanon, Raymond E. Feist
The Fountainhead, Ayn Rand
Great Expectations, Charles Dickens
The Help, Kathryn Stockett
The Inheritance Cycle, Christopher Paolini
Eragon
Eldest
Brinsingr
Inheritance
Magician, Raymond E. Feist
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, Agatha Christie
Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
Paper Angels, Jimmy Wayne
The Sword of Truth Series, Terry Goodkind
Debt of Bones
-Wizards First Rule
-Stone of Tears
-Blood of the Fold
-Temple of the Winds
-Soul of the Fire
-Faith of the Fallen
-Pillars of Creation
-Naked Empire
-Chainfire
-Phantom
-Confessor
-The Omen Machine
Silverthorn, Raymond E. Feist
The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett

Not to mention my daily Bible reading as well.
As you can see, I’ve been busy.

My idea is that in the future I will write a review and maybe some favorite quotes from the books I finish. I keep a book journal right now that I LOVE from Moleskine, and I love its format, so I think I’ll stick to that.

I think this was a pretty good start.

Happy reading, fellow bloggers. :)

4 responses

  1. Hi Alicia,
    Welcome to the world of blogging! I’m new to it this year as well, but it’s been a great way to practice writing and I have met some interesting people. Love your blog idea — books and cooking are two of my passions, as well. And like you, I’m constantly juggling 3-4 at a time. It’s nice to meet someone else for whom that’s simply a commonplace.

    Moleskine rules! I carry one with me at all times — no writer should be without her trusty Moleskine.

    Best of luck to you in your blogging endeavors. I will look forward to reading more of your posts.
    Cheers!

  2. Pingback: A List of Some of My Favorite Books « mindfulconsideration

Leave a Reply

