Are we there yet…?

I am not the fastest reader in the world. In fact, I like to take my time and enjoy myself. I savor the experience.

But I’ll let you in on a little secret: Great Expectations is not a fast read. I cannot get through this book fast enough. Unfortunately, every time I sit down with it something comes up. I have to make dinner, or I have to kiss my husband, or I have to do some laundry. This book just seems to not really capture my attention like others do.

I really want to like it. I do. It’s hilarious, in a morbid, I’m-better-than-everyone-I-know kind of a way. But it’s also very slow-moving, and in my life right now I need someone much more upbeat.

Sorry, Charles, I guess you’re just not my type.

One response

  1. I’m going to be reading this one in February. I read my first Dickens (Oliver Twist) last year, and it was very much a strauggle. But I pushed through it and ended up really liking it. I might even reread. :-)

Leave a Reply

