Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

"Alice meets the Caterpillar", from ...

Written by Lewis Carroll

Nationality: U.K.
Publisher: Macmillan
First Edition: 1865
My Edition: e-book
Original Language: English

I’m kind of a sucker for children’s stories. Whether they are stories about dreams or mythical creatures  or polar bear kings, I’m all for them. I love cartoons. I love Pixar movies, and I love picture books. And I love books written by adults who you can tell are children at heart. The feel I got from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was just that. You can tell Lewis Carroll was having the time of his life writing this story.

I only found one quote in here that really struck me, so here goes:

“‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
‘I don’t much care where–‘ said Alice.
‘Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.
‘–so long as I go somewhere,’ Alice added as an explanation.
‘Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, ‘if you only walk long enough.'”

English: original illustration (1865) by John ...

My favorite character in the book was the Dormouse. He couldn’t stay awake for the life of him, and something about him struck me as hilarious. He’s also my favorite character in the movie, as well.

“Twinkle, twinkle, little bat!
How I wonder what you’re at!…
Up above the world you fly
Like a tea-tray in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle–”

Everybody in the story is mad. I love that. Alice has lived such a boring, normal, complacent life for her entire childhood where she’s expected to do her lessons every day and be a lady, and then she falls into this dream world where everyone around her is the exact opposite of what she’s known her entire life. How I would love to play croquet with a flamingo! And chase after my hedgehog! And go to tea with a Mad Hatter and a March Hare and a Dormouse! Watch a Chechire Cat fade away until only his dancing smile remains… and wander through a garden of flowers that are taller than you are… Life would be so interesting.

I loved this book. It made me feel like a little kid again, full of adventures and wonders and dreams.

Happy reading, friends.

4 responses

  1. I love how you express your ideas and thoughts about the stories and the nuggets you take away. I like the quotes you include. I’m thinking you ought to be writing a book of your own, my girl. You understand the adventure, the lure, the character development. Give it a shot!

  2. Pingback: Folding Mirror Poetry: “In a Nutshell” « Writing Tips

  3. Pingback: Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll « arlasworld

Leave a Reply

