RUN! 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss

Written by Dean “Karno” Karnazes

Book #2 of 2012

Nationality: U.S.
Publisher: Rodale, Inc.
First Edition: 2011
My Edition: 2011
Original Language: English

Here’s the thing about this one: It’s a quick read. Not because it’s simple or anything like that, but because it’s so intriguing that you just don’t want to put it down and you soar right through it. I began reading it before my vacation, and finished it when I got back. What wonderful, inspirational stories!  The author is so humble and entertaining! I laughed out loud on multiple occasions. And I have to say I was surprised at how intelligently he wrote. I mean, I didn’t doubt how smart the man was – but this is pretty impressive. He opens himself up so you can view him when he is most vulnerable and raw. I heard that he most of the book recording on the run, and then transcribing it later onto paper. I thought that was pretty cool.

There were about twelve quotes I  tagged as I was reading, but I just noted three that I thought MUST absolutely be shared.

“Growing up, many of my friends’ fathers never attended any of our sporting events. Popou, on the other hand, never missed any of mine. I didn’t always want him there, but that was only because I had the security of knowing that he always would be there.” (Page 49)

Karno

“Once you permit yourself to compromise, you fail yourself. You might be able to fool some people, but you can never fool yourself. Your toughest critic is the one you face every morning in the mirror.” (Page 98)

“The ultramarathon doesn’t build character, it reveals it. It is here that you get an honest glimpse into the soul of an individual. Every insecurity, every character flaw is open and on display for all to see. No communication is ever more real, no expression ever more honest. There is no hiding behind anything; the ultramarathon is the great equalizer. Every movement, every word spoken and unspoken, is radiant truth. These are the profound moments of human interaction I live for.” (Page 202)

I absolutely recommend this book for someone who wants some laughs and some inspiration. Maybe inspiration for losing weight, or an athletic goal, or just any goals in general – this book is for you. Even if you’re not a runner, but especially if you are. I’ll tell you right now that I don’t really enjoy running too much, but after this book I think I’ll start up again.

It was a very, very good book. Especially for my first memoir read. I think I could read a second. Maybe his other book, Ultramarathon Man?

Happy reading, friends.

Leave a Reply

