His Dark Materials, books 2 and 3

Written by Phillip Pullman

Books 7 & 8 of 2012 (I’m falling behind, I know!)

The Subtle Knife
Nationality: U.K.
Publisher: Ballantine Books
First Edition: 1997
My Edition: 2002
Original Language: English

The Amber Spyglass
Nationality: U.K.
Publisher: Ballantine Books
First Edition: 2000
My Edition: 2002
Original Language: English

Well, folks, I’m pretty done with this trilogy. It COMPLETELY goes against my set of beliefs about my God. And for that, it gets knocked down a couple of notches.

The Golden Compass was fantastic. Great story, exciting, well-developed main character, etc. However…..

The cover of the book The Subtle Knife.

The Cover of Book #2, The Subtle Knife

The Subtle Knife was not nearly as exciting as its predecessor. It was basically just introducing a new character, Will, and building a plot for the next book, The Amber Spyglass, without actually having a good storyline of its own. So that sucked.

The cover of the book The Amber Spyglass.

The Cover of Book #3, The Amber Spyglass

As for The Amber Spyglass, the characters got pretty old. Boring. It took me forever to get through.

Now I know there are a bunch of die-hard fans of this trilogy out there, and I’m not trying to step on any toes here – it just wasn’t my favorite. I love fantasy fiction. My husband thinks I’m such a huge geek. But really, this just isn’t my type of fantasy fiction. I’m more of a wizards-mutilating-each-other-in-space kind of gal. And that’s okay. We will just agree to disagree, okay? Okay.

On to the next….happy reading, friends.

Leave a Reply

